Popular articles

What did Belgium use before the euro?

What did Belgium use before the euro?

Belgian franc
The Belgian franc (Dutch: Belgische frank, French: Franc belge, German: Belgischer Franken) was the currency of the Kingdom of Belgium from 1832 until 2002 when the Euro was introduced.

When did the EU start using the euro?

January 1, 1999
The euro arose from the 1991 Maastricht Treaty, in which the 12 original member countries of the European Community (now the European Union) created an economic and monetary union and a corresponding common unit of exchange. The new currency, the euro, was officially issued on January 1, 1999.

Does Belgium use euro?

You can use the euro in 19 EU countries: Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia and Spain. Discover more about the euro, which countries use it and the exchange rates.

Does Belgium still use the franc?

The Belgian Franc was the currency of the Kingdom of Belgium from 1832 until 2002, when it was replaced by the Euro. The franc was first struck in France as a gold coin in the 14th century, and adopted as a basic denomination by a number of other countries and French colonies. Belgian Francs are now obsolete.

Does Belgium Use francs or euros?

We’ve been using the euro since 2002 in Belgium, but banknotes denominated in Belgian franc with a face value of over 50 francs are still worth money! You can trade them in at Nationale Bank in Brussels, Belgium’s central bank.

When and why was the euro created?

On January 1, 1999, the European Union introduced its new currency, the euro. 1 The euro was created to promote growth, stability, and economic integration in Europe. Originally, the euro was an overarching currency used for exchange between countries within the union.

What currency did they spend in Belgium?

The euro
The euro is the official currency of Belgium, which is a member of the European Union.

Share this post