Popular articles

What are the 24 vertebrae?

What are the 24 vertebrae?

The adult vertebral column consists of 24 vertebrae, plus the sacrum and coccyx. The vertebrae are divided into three regions: cervical C1–C7 vertebrae, thoracic T1–T12 vertebrae, and lumbar L1–L5 vertebrae.

Do all mammals have 7 vertebrae?

“Nearly all mammals have the same number of cervical vertebrae, no matter how long or short their necks are–humans, giraffes, mice, whales, and platypuses all have exactly seven cervical vertebrae,” explains co-author Jeff Spear, an NYU doctoral student.

What does T7 nerve control?

The nerves in the area of a vertebra control specific parts of the body. For example, the 7th cervical nerve (C7) in the neck area controls the triceps (the muscle in the upper arm), while the thoracic nerves (T2 through T7) control the chest muscles.

What does T5 nerve control?

The T1-T4 thoracic sections control primarily chest muscles and organs, such as the heart and lungs. The T5 – T8 vertebrae affect the abdominal muscles, as well as some of the chest.

What does 5 non rib bearing lumbar type vertebral bodies mean?

When a radiology report says there are five non rib bearing lumbar vertebral bodies seen, it means the xray is showing five vertebrae to which no rib is attached (usually your lower lumbar vertebrae which begin right above the sacrum ). L5 is considered a non rib bearing lumbar vertebrae.

How many dermatomes in the human body?

A dermatome is an area of skin which is innervated by a single spinal nerve. There are 30 pairs of dermatomes in the body, from the skull to the toes, and each can be traced back to a specific nerve root.

What are vertebrae numbers?

Vertebrae are the 33 individual bones that interlock with each other to form the spinal column. The vertebrae are numbered and divided into regions: cervical, thoracic, lumbar, sacrum, and coccyx (Fig. 2). Only the top 24 bones are moveable; the vertebrae of the sacrum and coccyx are fused.

How many vertebrae are in the spinal column?

The spinal column is a composed of 33 spine bones (vertebrae), with the lower 9 vertebrae being fused (grown together) called the sacrum and coccyx .

Share this post